MINUTES OF SPECIAL BOARD MEETING 6-9-2020 #995 BOARD OF EDUCATION

CALL TO ORDER/MEETING PLACE

The Board of Education President, Ms. Barbara Laifman, called the special meeting to order at 5:03 p.m. On March 17, 2020, Gov. Newsom issued Executive Order N-29-20 that, in part, authorized governing boards to hold public meetings via teleconference. Governing boards must still provide advanced notice of each public meeting in accordance with the Brown Act and make public meetings accessible telephonically or otherwise electronically to all members of the public seeking to observe the meeting and/or to address the governing board.

Based on these guidelines, the OPUSD Board of Education held a video conference/teleconference special meeting on June 9th. Members of the public were able to observe the meeting using a published live stream link. Members of the public were able to submit comments via an online form which opened at 4:30 pm on the day of the meeting and remained open for submission of comments until the end of the meeting.

BOARD PRESENT

Mrs. Barbara Laifman, President, Mr. Allen Rosen, Vice President, Mr. Drew Hazelton, Clerk, Mr. Derek Ross, Member, and Mrs. Denise Helfstein, Member

BOARD ABSENT

None

STAFF PRESENT

Dr. Tony Knight, Superintendent, and Mrs. Ragini Aggarwal, Executive Assistant.

FLAG SALUTE

Barbara Laifman led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

On motion of Allen Rosen, seconded by Drew Hazelton, the Board of Education adopted the agenda as presented. Motion carried Aye: Hazelton, Helfstein, Laifman, Rosen, Ross. No - 0. Absent -0.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

None

ADJOURN TO CLOSED SESSION

Board President, Barbara Laifman reported that in Closed Session the Board would be discussing:

A. SUPERINTENDENT EVALUATION (Gov. Code §54957)

The Board adjourned to Closed Session at 5:07 p.m.

On motion of Derek Ross, seconded by Allen Rosen, there being no further business before this Board, the special meeting is declared adjourned at 7:10 p.m.

Date

President of the Board

Date

Clerk or Secretary of the Board